Department of Physics

Department of Physics, ever since its establishment in 1971, has been playing a key role in strengthening postgraduate teaching and research in physics. The department is a leading centre in the fields of Nuclear Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Materials Sceince, Astrophysics, Radiation Physics, Theoretical Physics, Plasma Physics, Non-convensional Energy Sources and Nanoscience. Madhava Observatory established in the campus is a part of research facilities of the department. Alumni of the department occupy several prestigious positions in national and international institutions. In recent times the department is associated with Nuclear Data Physics Centre of India in data generation, validation and compilation of Nuclear Data for Nuclear Data Section of IAEA, Vienna and with India-based Neutrino Observatory (INO) programme. The department could fetch large funds through departmental projects and faculty projects, under various schems of UGC, DAE, DST, KSCSTE etc. including the Fund for Infrastructure in Science and Technology (FIST) of Department of Science and Technology and Special Assistance Program (SAP) of UGC. Five cumulative JRF/SRF fellowships per year under BSR scheme promotes research in a significant manner. The SARD scheme of KSCSTE is another impetus for the department. During the last five years, the department has over 110 published articles in international/national peer reviewed and indexed journals into its credit and 26 scholars have been awarded Ph.D degree and 30 students M.Phil degree.

Organizing committee:

Patron: Dr. K. Mohammed Basheer Hon. Vice Chancellor, University of Calicut

Chairman : Prof. P. P. Pradyumnan Head of the Department

Convener: Dr. Libu K. Alexander (Ph. 9446376861)

Members:

Prof. Antony Joseph Prof. M. M. Musthafa Prof. A. M. Vinodkumar Dr. C. D. Ravikumar Dr. T. H. Mohamed Shahin Ms. Divya N. K. Ms. Amina T. & Research scholars (Materials research lab) Email ID: cuphygjns2018@gmail.com





Three -day Golden Jubilee National Seminar on

Science and Technology of New Materials for Sustainable Future (STNM 2018)

7-9 February 2018



Organized by Department of Physics University of Calicut Calicut University P.O Kerala-673635



Venue: Aryabhatta Hall, Central Science Block



Dear Sir/Madam,

The faculty, research scholars, students, staff and alumni of the department, with immense pleasure, inform you that we are organizing a **three-day Golden Jubilee National Seminar on 'Science and Technology of New Materials for Sustainable Future (STNM 2018)', during 7-9 February 2018.**

We invite the faculty members, research scholars and post graduate students of your institution to participate in the seminar. Interested delegates are requested to register by sending an Email containing name, status, address, Email ID and phone number to *cuphygjns2018@gmail.com* on or before 03-02-2018. For any query, contact chairman or convener of the seminar.

The participants in need of accommodation are requested to contact the convener before 03-02-2018. Accommodation can be arranged on payment basis.

Organizing Committee

About the seminar

The interdisciplinary field of Materials Science includes discovery, design and to develop understanding of new functional materials. The studies on materials science applicable to technologies important for daily needs of humanity hold special significance. It is important for materials science fraternity to address the urgent need for environment friendly and universally accessible technologies. STNM 2018 focus on recent trends and developments in the field of science and technology of new materials for sustainable future.

Objectives

•Provide a platform for sharing new ideas of research in the field of material science.

•Encourage students and researchers to take up sustainable and interdisciplinary approach towards the research in materials science.

•To inculcate scientific temperament to young minds to face the challenges in the field of developing new materials.

Invited speakers include

Prof. Arun M. Umarji (IISc, Bangalore)
Dr. N. Raghu (C-MET, Thrissur)
Dr. V. Kumar (CMET, Thrissur)
Prof. Chandrasekharan. K (NIT, Calicut)
Prof. M. R. Anantharaman (CUSAT, Cochin)
Prof. N. V. Unnikrishnan (M. G. University, Kottayam)
Prof. Narayana Kalkura (Anna University, Chennai)
Prof. S. Moorthy Babu (Anna University, Chennai)
Dr. S. N. Potty (CMET, Thrissur)

Call for papers

Interested researchers working in the field of material science can present their papers orally. The participants are requested to submit their abstract (maximum of 300 words) to **cuphygjns2018@gmail.com** before the deadline. For oral presentation, the participants are recommended to bring their presentation materials in CD only. USB devices are not allowed.

Accommodation

Accommodation will be booked at request on payment basis.

Site seeing trip including boating will be conducted on request basis.

Important dates

Abstract submission deadline : 29. 01.2018Intimation of acceptance: 31. 01.2018Registration deadline: 03. 02.2018

University of Calicut

Established in 1968, with 'Nirmaya Karmana Sree' as its motto, the University of Calicut has been catering to the needs of thousands of students hailing mainly from the northern districts of Kerala. With 30 post graduate departments and 480 colleges, it is now celebrating the golden Jubilee year of its establishment. University was recently reaccredited with 'A' grade by NAAC.